The Big Sur International Short Film Screening Series announced the winners of its 2017 summer series

SEPTEMBER 14, 2017 (BIG SUR, CALIFORNIA) – The Big Sur International Short Film Screening Series announced the winners of its 2017 summer series, as selected by its 9-person jury.

“The Railroad Lady” (Timo von Gunten/Switzerland) won first place and audience award. “Pushing Night Away” (Jade Hærem Aksnes/Norway) came in second, while “Enemies Within” (Sélim Azzazi/France) finished third.

The series’ jury includes composer Philip Glass, experimental artist and composer Laurie Anderson, actress Kirsten Dunst, producer Michael Polish, editor Susan Littenberg, producer Lawrence Inglee, actor and filmmaker David Price, author Susan Zsigmond, and cinematographer Dean Semler.

Lucien Guignard and Jane Birkin of “The Railroad Lady”

Recognized as one of the most innovative short film series in the world, the Big Sur International Short Film Screening Series, curated by the Henry Miller Memorial Library, celebrated its 11th year in 2017. This was the series’ most successful to date, having receiving over 1,500 submissions from over 50 countries.

This was the first series not held in Big Sur. Due to a the closure subsequent demolition of Big Sur’s Pfeiffer Canyon Bridge in the spring, the series, held from June to August, relocated the Henry Miller Memorial Library’s satellite location in Carmel, CA. The series will move back to Big Sur in 2018.

“It was certainly an interesting year with the new location, all the more so because this year’s crop of films was probably the strongest set of films since the series’ inception,” said series director Magnus Toren. “I’m never ceased to be amazed by filmmakers’ ability to crystalize pressing social concerns or universal stories with such artistry, technical excellence, and humanity.”

“Selections ran the gamut — comedies, dramas, documentaries, animation, you name it. The series has become known for an element of unpredictability and I think our audience members appreciate that.”

The Series is now accepting submissions for its 2018 installment. To submit and for more information regarding the series, as well as previous selections and winners, visit

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.